Connecting with our tomorrow - today
Connect With Us
Calendar of Events
There are no events to display for this time period.

>> More Events

Sacraments & Holy Days


The Catholic Church in the United States currently celebrates six Holy Days of Obligation which are listed below in bold on the liturgical calendar. These are liturgical feasts that honor the mysteries of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Blessed Virgin Mary, and the Saints. They are considered an obligation because the Precepts of the Catholic Church tell us that celebrating these feast days is part of the minimum level of commitment to the Catholic faith. Any feast celebrated on a Sunday such as Easter falls under our normal Sunday duty.

To read more on the Precepts of the Catholic Church, click on the following link.
Taken from:

Guidelines regarding Fast and Abstinence (PDF)

Cycle B

Mary, Mother of God Friday, January 1, 2016
Holy Day of Obligation
Ash Wednesday Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Palm Sunday Sunday, March 20, 2016
Holy Thursday Thursday, March 24, 2016
Good Friday Friday, March 25, 2016
Holy Saturday Saturday, March 26, 2016
Easter Sunday Sunday, March 27, 2016
Divine Mercy Sunday Sunday, April 3, 2016
Ascension Thursday, May 5, 2016
Holy Day of Obligation
(transferred to Sunday, May 8, 2016)   
Pentecost Sunday Sunday, May 15, 2016
Trinity Sunday Sunday, May 22, 2016
Corpus Christi Thursday, May 26, 2016
(transferred to Sunday, May 29, 2016)
Sacred Heart of Jesus Friday, June 3, 2016
Assumption of Mary Monday, August 15, 2016
Holy Day of Obligation
(abrogated because it falls on a Monday)
All Saints Day Tuesday, November 1, 2016
Holy Day of Obligation
First Sunday of Advent Sunday, November 27, 2016
Immaculate Conception Thursday, December 8, 2016
Holy Day of Obligation
Christmas Day Sunday, December 25, 2016
Holy Day of Obligation

Through the ministers of the Church, the saving words and deeds of Jesus Christ are the foundation of what He would communicate in the Sacraments. Guided by the Holy Spirit, the Church recognizes the existence of Seven Sacraments instituted by the Lord. Through the Sacraments, God shares his holiness with us so that we, in turn, can make the world holier.

See below for information and preparation.
Taken from:

To learn more about the Seven Catholic Sacraments, click the links below.